Cheese Scones

Cheese is one of my favourite things in the world (yes, the whole world). If there were two rating scales for the best things in the world, a sweet version and a savoury one, cake and cheese would be at the same position in the corresponding scale.

That’s why messing so badly the cheese-cake experience, kept me tortured for some days. To bring back equilibrium into my world, I returned to my comfort zone and baked some cheese-scones. Because I needed some feeling of accomplishment, because I love them, and because we had a visitor, and nothing says welcome better than oven hot scones for breakfast. Plus we had some leftover gruyère from the previous day fondue, and binning food is a sin (everyone knows that).

Cheese Scones

These little treats from my adoptive land are very easy and fast to make, plus extremely rewarding, so we have them for breakfast quite often on the weekends. This is the recipe I use:

Cheese scones

  • 225 g self-raising flour
  • 55 g butter
  • 25 g grated cheddar (or gruyere in my case, or any cheese you like, really…)
  • 150 ml milk
  • A pinch of salt and a dash of pepper

Add the salt and pepper to the flour and rub the cold butter with your fingertips until you have fine crumbs. Stir in the cheese  (I most of the time cheat and put more than 25 g…) and then the milk to get a soft dough. Knead lightly to around 2 cm thick and cut scones with a 5 cm round cutter. 

You can brush the tops with a bit of milk or egg and they will look glossy, I didn’t do it this time.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes at 220 °C until golden.

P1090968

And now get yourself a nice cappuccino and eat one whilst they are still hot. Doesn’t it feel like weekend?

One thought on “Cheese Scones

  1. Pingback: Scones de formatge | [sweet) Kitchen Science

Leave a Reply

