Smart choices

Some time ago I made this cake. Alluring. Mine was vanilla sponge with vanilla frosting, though.

Like sweetmacaron, I made it for someone´s birthday, but unlike her, it wasn’t a cute little niece´s second birthday, but the 30th of a not so little (not so cute) individual (great guy). Nevertheless, the cake was a total success amongst the bunch of kids legally allowed to buy alcohol that came to the party.

DSC_1498

(Picture taken on the car whilst I was waiting for the guys to load the beer on the trunk. Please don’t judge)

That day one of the kids, with a kid of his own, requested the cake to be reproduced for his daughter next time we had dinner together, but with Nutella, loads of it. On Wednesday we were supposed to meet, but I got stuck in the lab until far too late for me to admit publicly, so we missed it. I still delivered the cake (no Kit Kat this time, I´m afraid my photographer and I ate them all during sofa movie sessions), and later, eating the smarties on top of the cake, I realised I need to put in order my priorities.

P1090172

The cake base was a butter sponge, a recipe I discovered in the very first baking book I ever bought, many years ago; and in the middle and all around it I used some microwave softened Nutella. To finish, I topped it up with the smartness that my choices lack. It is dead easy to make, plus very satisfactory.

Smarties cake

Butter sponge

  • 125 g softened butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 275 g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 225 flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 125 ml milk

Preheat the oven at 160 ºC and line a 20 cm tin with baking paper.

Beat the ingredients at low speed until just mixed, then increase the speed and beat until the mixture turns pale. Pour into the tin and bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Leave to cool in the tin for 5 minutes before de-tinning.

Nutella

  • Straight from the jar, oh yeah

Soften in the microwave for 30 seconds (make sure you remove all traces of the golden protective paper that seals the jar, or you´ll end up with some fireworks, it´s metal).

With a large serrated knife, split the cake horizontally to get 2 layers. Spread some Nutella on top of the first layer, place the second layer on top and cover the top and sides of the cake with more Nutella.

Decoration

  • Smarties
  • Kit Kat

Place the smarties on the top and (if you have any left) press the Kit Kat fingers all around it.

P1090181 P1090163

One thought on “Smart choices

  1. Pingback: Pastís amb Smarties | [sweet) Kitchen Science

Leave a Reply

